Skip to content

Guide ·

Should I climb on a friction hitch or a mechanical device?

Short answer

Neither is safer by default. A friction hitch is a technique: its grip depends on the cord, the host rope, the wraps and your tending, and no manufacturer certifies that combination. A mechanical device is a certified product with a published rope diameter window and an approved system you have to stay inside.

The argument usually gets framed as old versus new, or feel versus convenience. That framing misses the part that matters, which is regulatory rather than mechanical.

A friction hitch grips because a small-diameter cord bites a larger-diameter line. How hard it bites is a function of four things you control — the cord, the host rope, the number of wraps, and how you tend it — and no manufacturer certifies that assembly. A mechanical device arrives certified as a product, with a stated rope diameter range, a stated rope standard and a stated list of approved systems. One is a technique you build and verify; the other is a product with a compatibility list you follow.

What actually differs between a friction hitch and a mechanical device?

The device is certified; a hitch’s components are certified but the hitch itself isn’t. Petzl is direct about this on its friction hitches page, which states that “the diameter and type of cord used to make a friction hitch must be selected according to the rope it will be used on,” and that “holding power and ease of release can be adjusted by changing the number of wraps.” Both sentences are true and neither carries a number.

The cords are certified — as cords. Teufelberger’s Ocean Polyester is a 32-braid with a polyester core and a polyester/aramid cover, published to EN 564 in 8 mm and ANSI Z133 in 10 mm. Sterling’s 8 mm Flex Hitch Cord carries a Technora/polyester sheath and a published end-to-end minimum breaking strength of 16 kN, 29 kN in a basket. Edelrid’s 6 mm aramid cord sling publishes 22 kN to EN 354 and EN 566 and calls itself “particularly suitable for use as a prusik sling.”

Those are strength figures for the cord. None says the cord will hold on your rope, in your hitch, at your wraps.

What rope diameter window does each device publish?

Narrow, precise, and not the same window twice. Here is what four makers publish.

System Published rope window Rope standard named Systems approved Published load limits
Petzl ZIGZAG and ZIGZAG PLUS 11.5 to 13 mm EN 1891 type A Moving rope; stationary rope with CHICANE 140 kg; 250 kg for two on the ZIGZAG
ISC Rope Wrench RP280 (RP283) 11 to 13 mm (RP283: 13 mm only) none named for the wrench Single rope technique only no user mass figure published
Rock Exotica Akimbo² 11.5 to 12.7 mm EN 1891 Type A Stationary primary, moving rope permitted 30 to 130 kg
Notch Rope Runner Pro 11 to 13 mm ANSI Z133-2017 arborist grade Stationary and moving rope 140 kg maximum working load
Any friction hitch none published cord to EN 564 or ANSI Z133 not stated by the cord maker not stated by the cord maker

The last row is not an omission. It’s the finding. Rock Exotica is also the only one of the four to publish a floor as well as a ceiling: the Akimbo² working load limit starts at 30 kg, not at zero.

Figures from Petzl’s ZIGZAG and ZIGZAG PLUS pages, ISC’s Rope Wrench manual, Rock Exotica’s Akimbo² technical notice and Notch’s Rope Runner Pro instructions.

Two disagreements are worth naming. A 13 mm line sits inside Petzl’s, ISC’s and Notch’s windows and outside Rock Exotica’s, which stops at 12.7 mm. And Petzl and Rock Exotica both name EN 1891 Type A — a semi-static standard — while Notch asks for arborist-grade rope meeting ANSI Z133. Different qualification routes, and a rope can carry one label without the other, which is the subject of our guide to arborist rope versus climbing rope. Printed diameter is also not measured diameter — see what rope diameter you actually need.

Rock Exotica also changed its own window between generations. The earlier Akimbo user manual published no range at all — instead an “APPROVED ROPES” list of ten named products from 11.1 to 12.5 mm, split into a 100 kg group and a 130 kg group, with the instruction that “only approved ropes should be used with the Akimbo.”

Which system is each device approved for?

Read this before the diameter. A device outside its approved system is outside its certification even on a rope of the right size.

Petzl’s ZIGZAG is a moving-rope device that becomes a stationary rope device only with the CHICANE accessory adding friction on descent. Rock Exotica’s Akimbo² states that “the Akimbo can be used on a Moving Rope System (MRS) when the rope is attached to the climber’s harness with a suitable means of connection,” with stationary rope as the primary application. ISC is the most restrictive: the Rope Wrench system “is meant to be used by arborists servicing, accessing, or maintaining trees in conjunction with a Single Rope Technique (SRT) configuration.” Notch approves both, then forbids using the stationary-rope attachment point in a moving-rope setup — the two configurations being the subject of our guide to SRT versus DdRT.

The Rope Wrench also breaks the framing: it isn’t a replacement for a hitch, it adds friction above one. ISC’s manual says “Never use as life support,” and the RP280 product page states the wrench is “NOT for Primary Life Support. NOT CE APPROVED.”

Does anyone certify a hitch cord and rope as a matched pair?

One manufacturer does, and only because certification left it no choice. ISC explains on its CE kits announcement that “since it’s not possible to CE certify the Rope Wrench as a single item (due to there being no applicable standard, for the Rope Wrench), it was necessary to certify an entire system.” And: “the PPE Regulations Certification applies to full kits, when used in their entirety.”

The kit manual then prints the combinations table nobody else publishes: a Teufelberger drenaLINE ø11.8 mm rope spliced to EN 1891A, a Teufelberger ø10 mm Ocean Polyester cord at 85 cm end to end, a “5-Wrap Distel Hitch,” an RP280A2 wrench and an RP282 PHLOTICH pulley, with a shorter tether variant switching to a “3-Wrap Knut Hitch” on a 60 cm cord. It adds that “it is of particular importance that the user assembles their kit using the correct combination of rope and hitch cord type and hitch configuration, in relation to the type of tether used.”

Everyone else stops short. DMM’s Hitch Climber Eccentric — the pulley the hitch hangs from — publishes a 7 to 14 mm rope range, 32 kN minimum breaking strength, a 6 kN working load limit and EN 12278:2007 certification, and no cord diameter and no approved hitch list. Sterling’s HollowBlock2 is 6.8 mm of Technora at 14 kN and works “on ropes 7 mm or larger” — the loosest compatibility statement here by some margin. The 10 mm eye-to-eye Ocean Polyester lists EN 795B and ANSI Z133-2012 with no breaking strength published at all.

The Treemagineers Hitch Climbers’ Guide to the Canopy, produced with Teufelberger and DMM, is blunt about where that leaves you: “ultimately it’s up to you, the end user, to configure the system so that it works reliably.”

What does heat do to a hitch cord?

It glazes the sheath, and glazing is fused fiber rather than dirt. The same guide states that “cordage glazing may result from excessively fast descents,” and Teufelberger’s rope inspection guidance lists “glazing & hard spots” among the general-condition checks, on a schedule of before and after each use plus twice a year for stored rope.

Heat is why hitch cords are sold on fiber content — aramid in Teufelberger’s Ocean Polyester cover, Technora in Sterling’s Flex and HollowBlock2, aramid in Edelrid’s sling. None publishes a temperature figure, a descent-speed limit, or a length of glazing that ends the cord’s service life. Retiring a hitch cord is a judgment call.

What do the manuals say about inspection and retirement?

Devices get dated schedules; hitches get inspected but not dated. Rock Exotica’s Akimbo² asks for detailed inspection “at least every 12 months or more frequently depending on amount and type of use,” and says to retire and destroy the device if any component fails inspection, if it has arrested a fall or been significantly loaded, or if there is any doubt about its condition. Notch publishes the same 12-month interval by a competent inspector. Petzl’s equipment lifetime FAQ sets a flat outer limit: ten years from date of manufacture for plastic and textile products, unlimited for metal, with the caveat that “an unusual event may require you to retire a product after only one use.”

Each maker forbids specific things. The Akimbo² says not to use the device on icy ropes, or with a hand ascender and foot loops. Notch forbids using the redirected tail of the rope to control descent. And Petzl’s ZIGZAG manual undercuts any assumption that a published range settles it: “if you install a new or a different rope in a used ZIGZAG / ZIGZAG PLUS, you must test the compatibility of the rope with that device.”

Even the certified product asks you to verify the pairing.

The short version

A friction hitch is cheap, field-serviceable, adjustable by a wrap, and entirely dependent on the knowledge of the person tying it, because no maker certifies the cord, rope, hitch and wrap count as a system — and the one that publishes such a combination had to sell the whole kit to do it. A mechanical device is repeatable, inspectable and dated, but locks you into a window as narrow as 11.5 to 12.7 mm and a manual you follow exactly. The makers don’t agree on either end of that window or on which rope standard qualifies, so the choice gets made per system, not in general. If you want a published number to defend your setup, the device hands you one; if you want something you can tune, tie and repair on the ground, the hitch does that — and hands you the responsibility with it.

Quick answers

Is a friction hitch certified equipment?
The cord is certified. The hitch is not. Teufelberger sells Ocean Polyester hitch cord to EN 564 in 8 mm and to ANSI Z133 in 10 mm, and Sterling publishes a 16 kN end-to-end strength for its 8 mm Flex Hitch Cord. Neither publishes which host rope diameters, which hitch or how many wraps that cord is approved for. The finished hitch is a technique the climber assembles and verifies.
Can a mechanical climbing device be used on both a moving rope and a stationary rope?
That depends entirely on the device. Rock Exotica's Akimbo² technical notice names a stationary rope system as the primary application and states the device can also be used on a moving rope system. Petzl's ZIGZAG works on a moving rope system and takes the separate CHICANE accessory to add friction for stationary use. ISC restricts the Rope Wrench system to single rope technique only.
Do manufacturers publish approved hitch cord and rope combinations?
Almost never as a standalone table. ISC is the exception, and only because it had to be: to certify the Rope Wrench under the EU PPE Regulation it certified whole kits, each naming a specific rope, a specific hitch cord and a specific hitch — for example an 11.8 mm Teufelberger drenaLINE with a 10 mm Ocean Polyester cord tied as a five-wrap Distel. ISC states that certification applies to full kits used in their entirety.
Why do hitch cords glaze, and what does a glazed cord mean?
Glazing is heat damage from friction. The Hitch Climbers' Guide to the Canopy, published by Treemagineers with Teufelberger and DMM, states that cordage glazing may result from excessively fast descents. Teufelberger's rope inspection guidance lists glazing and hard spots among the general-condition checks, and asks for inspection before and after each use plus twice a year for stored rope. A glazed patch is fused fiber, not dirt.
Is there a minimum climber weight for a mechanical climbing device?
Rock Exotica publishes one; most makers don't. The Akimbo² technical notice gives a working load limit of 30 to 130 kg — a floor as well as a ceiling. Petzl publishes 140 kg for the ZIGZAG with no lower bound, Notch publishes a 140 kg maximum working load for the Rope Runner Pro with no lower bound, and ISC publishes no user mass figure for the Rope Wrench at all.

Brands in this guide

Sources