Skip to content

Guide · · updated

COAST CL20R: a clamp light for camp repairs and stationary work

Short answer

The CL20R is worth considering for stationary tasks where you can clamp, stand or magnetically mount a light. Its fixed flood covers a work area while keeping your hands free. Choose the mode around the job: the listed 16-hour maximum runtime belongs to low output, not its brightest setting.

COAST CL20R — official product photograph
© COAST. Used with permission.

Researched product review. AllEquipped has not hands-on tested this product. Photography permission does not constitute a brand endorsement of this review.

Where does a clamp light make sense?

A clamp light makes sense where the job stays put — a parked camper, a workbench or a small repair — because it gives you a place to position light independently of your head. COAST lists a clamp that also acts as a stand, magnetic mounting and a fixed flood beam. Check that your chosen mounting surface is secure and that the light reaches the work without your body casting a shadow over it.

How do brightness and runtime compare?

The current manufacturer table pairs high output of 1,750 lumens with 3.75 hours, medium at 940 lumens with 6.25 hours, and low at 200 lumens with 16 hours. These are rated figures; we have not measured the output curve. The maximum brightness and maximum runtime do not describe one operating mode.

What does COAST publish for the CL20R, and what does it leave out?

COAST publishes output, runtime and beam distance for each mode, plus the battery type, charging port, IP rating, weight and dimensions — and no peak beam intensity, impact rating, battery capacity, charge time or test standard. Every figure below is COAST’s listing, not our measurement.

Specification What COAST lists Where
High 1,750 lm, 3.75 h, 60 m beam distance CL20R product page
Medium 940 lm, 6.25 h, 43 m beam distance CL20R product page
Low 200 lm, 16 h, 20 m beam distance CL20R product page
Beam “ULTRA VIEW™ FLOOD”, fixed CL20R product page
Battery “Built-In ZITHION™ Rechargeable”, lithium-ion CL20R product page
Charging and power out USB-C charging; USB-C or USB-A power-out port CL20R product page
Water and dust IP54 CL20R product page
Weight 18.44 oz CL20R product page
Dimensions Length 6.75 in, width 3.25 in, height 6.77 in, bezel diameter 8 in CL20R product page
Peak beam intensity Not published —
Impact resistance Not published —
Battery capacity, charge time, power-out rating Not published —
Test standard named None —
Warranty term for this product Not stated; COAST’s general terms are on its warranty page —

The dimension rows are reproduced as COAST prints them. An 8-inch bezel diameter sits oddly beside a 3.25-inch width and a 6.77-inch height, and the page doesn’t explain how they fit together.

What are the power and weather tradeoffs?

The main tradeoff is the built-in battery: COAST lists a built-in ZITHION™ rechargeable cell charged over USB-C, with no alternative battery option on the page, alongside an IP54 rating. COAST also lists power-bank capability. If you use the same battery to charge another device, plan for less energy being available for lighting. A built-in battery makes your recharging plan more important than it would be with an immediately swappable spare. COAST’s support FAQ adds that batteries are, “in most cases,” not covered under its warranties.

Should you choose this or a headlamp?

We would shortlist the CL20R for a job that stays in one place and offers a suitable mounting position. A headlamp is easier to keep aimed as you move between tasks. Our COAST camp and work comparison covers those alternatives. Before choosing, think through where the lamp will sit, how far you will move and whether its beam can stay clear of your hands. We have not tested clamp grip, durability or charging performance.

View the manufacturer’s current product information. See the full Coast brand guide.

The short version

The CL20R is a fixed-flood clamp light for work that stays in one place — a repair beside a parked camper, a bench, a stationary camp task — where you can clamp, stand or magnet-mount it and keep both hands free. Read its figures by mode: 1,750 lumens belongs to high at 3.75 hours, and the 16-hour runtime belongs to the 200-lumen low setting. The battery is built in and doubles as a power bank, but COAST publishes no capacity, charge time or power-out rating, names no test standard, and states no warranty term specific to the light. Plan your recharging around the job, and treat every number on the page as COAST’s listing rather than a measured result.

Product information checked September 24, 2026, and rechecked October 3, 2026. Official photograph used with permission.

Quick answers

Does the CL20R run for 16 hours at full brightness?
No. COAST pairs the CL20R's 16-hour runtime with the 200-lumen low mode; high is listed at 1,750 lumens for 3.75 hours.
Is the CL20R focusable?
No. COAST specifies a fixed flood beam for the CL20R. The light is intended to spread light across an area rather than change between spot and flood.
Can the COAST CL20R charge a phone or other device?
COAST says it can. The CL20R product page describes a power-bank feature: "Use the light's battery as a power source for other devices—connect via the built-in USB-C or USB-A power-out port." The same page publishes no battery capacity and no power-out rating, so how much charge the CL20R can pass to a phone, and how much lighting time that costs, is not stated by COAST.
Does COAST's lifetime warranty cover the CL20R's built-in battery?
COAST doesn't say so for the CL20R. Its warranty page covers products "for the life of the original purchaser" under a heading naming "Knives, Multi Tools, and LED Flashlights/Headlamps," and its support FAQ answers "Are batteries covered under warranty?" with "In most cases, no." The CL20R product page lists a "Built-In ZITHION™ Rechargeable" battery and states no warranty term of its own.
Does COAST name a test standard for the CL20R's lumen and runtime figures?
No. The COAST CL20R product page lists output, runtime and beam distance for three modes plus an IP54 rating, but names no test standard and gives no peak beam intensity or impact figure. PLATO, which publishes ANSI/PLATO FL 1, says its 2025 revision adds "a formally expanded product scope covering area lights, headlamps, spotlights, and additional portable lighting categories."

Brands in this guide

Sources