Skip to content

Guide ·

What angle should you sharpen a knife to?

Short answer

Match the factory edge unless it keeps failing you. Real published angles: Benchmade grinds 30–35° inclusive, Spyderco's Sharpmaker sets 15° or 20° per side, Morakniv's Scandi blades run 23–27° total, Kershaw says 18–22° without saying which convention. Always check whether a figure is per side or inclusive: 20° per side and 20° inclusive are radically different edges.

Ask ten people who sharpen knives what angle to use and you’ll get answers from 12° to 25°, most of them defensible for some knife. The makers are more specific — many publish a factory figure on their own care pages — and the practical advice buried in all of them is the same: put back the edge the factory ground.

The catch is that the industry states angles two different ways and often doesn’t say which one it’s using. A “20-degree edge” is either a hard-use working bevel or something approaching a razor, depending on a word the care page may have left out.

Why is “match the factory edge” the standard advice?

Because the factory angle is the one the blade’s steel, thickness and grind were chosen around, and re-establishing it removes less metal than changing it. CRKT’s sharpening guide puts it plainly: each knife comes with a factory-set edge angle, and sharpening is the act of restoring it. Benchmade opens the angle advice in its care guide with the same instruction: “Match the factory edge angle.”

There’s a mechanical reason. Sharpening at the existing angle touches only the last fraction of a millimeter of steel — a few light passes and the apex is back. Cutting a new angle means regrinding the whole bevel until the two planes meet again, which takes real time on a stone and real metal off the blade. Do that casually a few times and you’ve shortened the knife’s life for nothing.

What’s the difference between per-side and inclusive angles?

A per-side angle measures one bevel against the centerline of the blade; an inclusive angle adds both bevels together — so the same number can describe two radically different edges. Work Sharp’s edge-angle explainer is one of the few maker pages that defines the terms outright: “Edge angle can be measured per side … or inclusive, measuring the angle that the tip itself forms in its entirety to both sides” — adding that “we usually talk about angles per side, as that is more relevant to sharpening.” Per side is the angle your hand actually holds against the stone.

Run the arithmetic once and the stakes are obvious. Sharpened at 20° per side, a knife carries a 40° inclusive edge — the durable end of pocket-knife territory. Sharpened at 20° inclusive, it carries 10° per side — thinner than a Scandinavian bushcraft bevel. Same number, two edges with nothing in common.

Spyderco shows what clear labeling looks like. The Tri-Angle Sharpmaker’s keyed base sets its stones at “30° (15° each side) or 40° (20° each side)” — both conventions, same line, no ambiguity.

Benchmade shows how slippery the conversion is even when a maker does label. Its care page states 30–35° inclusive, glossed as “about 17–20° per side” — but 17–20° per side doubles to 34–40° inclusive, and 30–35° inclusive halves to 15–17.5° per side. The two halves of the maker’s own sentence don’t quite reconcile. That’s not a scandal; it’s a demonstration. If the conversion can wobble on a manufacturer’s care page, it’s worth pinning down before you grind.

What angles do knife makers actually publish?

Normalized to per side, the published figures cluster between roughly 15° and 22.5° — but several makers give a number with no convention attached at all. Here’s what the care pages actually say:

Maker Published figure Per side or inclusive? Source
Benchmade 30–35° inclusive (“about 17–20° per side”); kitchen cutlery typically 14° per side Both stated — the halves don’t quite match Knife Care 101
Spyderco Sharpmaker settings of 30° or 40° Both stated: “15° each side” / “20° each side” Sharpmaker page
Morakniv Scandi grind 23° (blades up to 2.5 mm) or 27° (thicker); micro bevel 35–45° Inclusive — labeled “total edge angle” Grinds and edge angles
Kershaw “Original sharpened angle of 18°–22°” Not stated Product care
Gerber 20–30° recommended for any Gerber knife Not stated Sharpening guide
Opinel “Approximately 20°” between blade and sharpening rod Not stated Sharpening tips
CRKT No factory figure published; recommends 17–25° for EDC knives Per side — for the recommendation; the factory edge goes unstated Sharpening mechanics
Buck Knives 22.5° “works well” Not labeled — described as the angle held against the stone Buck’s sharpening guide

Where the third column says “not stated,” the page describes holding the blade against a stone or rod at that angle — a per-side measurement in practice — but the page leaves you to draw that inference.

Context usually rescues the unlabeled numbers. Read Kershaw’s 18–22° or Gerber’s 20–30° as inclusive and you’d get 9–15° per side, angles no production folder ships at, so per side is the only sensible reading. But “the only sensible reading” is you doing the maker’s labeling for them, and guessing in the other direction is exactly how edges get wrecked.

Morakniv is the clean counter-example, and the knife where guessing would hurt most. Its knowledge page states a “total edge angle” of 23° for Scandi blades up to 2.5 mm thick and 27° for thicker ones — numbers that would pass as plausible per-side angles and are actually half that, 11.5° and 13.5° a side. The optional micro bevel is listed at 35–45° total. Put a familiar-sounding 20° per side on a Scandi grind and you haven’t sharpened the knife; you’ve doubled its edge angle.

How do you hold an angle without a jig?

Halve your way there: hold the blade square to the stone at 90°, tilt to about 45°, then halve again and you’re near 22.5° — the angle Buck’s sharpening guide says “works well.” It’s the rare trick that needs no gear and lands within a few degrees of most factory edges. From there, ink the bevel with a marker and make three light passes: ink gone at the shoulder means you’re too shallow, ink gone only at the very edge means you’re close.

Guided tools remove the guessing. Work Sharp’s Guided Field Sharpener lists its spec as “Edge Angles: 20°, 25°” — and note that even a sharpening company’s spec line skips the per-side label; it’s their education page that establishes the company talks in per-side terms. Spyderco’s Sharpmaker inverts the problem entirely: the base holds the stones at the angle, and you keep the blade vertical, which is the easiest thing in sharpening to do repeatably.

When should you move off the factory angle?

When the edge keeps failing the same way — chipping or rolling wants a wider angle, and a knife that only ever slices soft material can afford a thinner one. The published ranges agree closely. Work Sharp puts kitchen knives at 15–18°, pocket knives at 17–25° and outdoor blades at 25–35° per side; CRKT’s guide overlaps it almost exactly, recommending 17–25° per side for everyday carry, 15–20° for slicing-focused work and 20–30° where durability matters. The only real daylight between the two is at the heavy end — 35° versus 30° for hard outdoor use — worth knowing if you’re sharpening a chopper, immaterial for a pocket knife.

The trade is stated flatly in Work Sharp’s explainer: “as an angle gets wider the edge grows stronger,” while “thinner angles like 15 degrees, are fragile and the edge will roll to one side or the other with heavy use.” Steel sets the limits of that trade — a hard, fine-grained steel holds a thin bevel that would roll immediately in a softer one. If the steel name stamped on your blade means nothing to you, our guide to knife steel names is the place to start.

Can every blade be resharpened?

No — Silky saws are the standing exception worth knowing about. Silky’s US distributor states that the impulse-hardened teeth on most of its blades “cannot be sharpened and are recognizable by the black teeth tips”; the hardening buys “a lifespan of three times that of non-treated teeth,” and when it’s spent, the answer is a replacement blade, not a file. The same page notes that blades without hardened teeth can be sharpened with a file. If you’ve been eyeing a folding saw with a whetstone in hand — don’t.

Serrated knife edges are the other special case: sharpenable, but scallop by scallop with a rod or a rounded stone corner, the way Spyderco’s Sharpmaker instructions present the rounded edge of the stone to serrated blades. Whether you want serrations in the first place is its own decision — our serrated vs plain edge guide walks through it.

The short version

Sharpen at the angle the factory ground, and only move off it when the edge keeps failing in a way a different angle would fix. Before trusting any published number, find out whether it’s per side or inclusive — the difference is a factor of two, and several makers, Kershaw and Gerber among them, publish figures without saying which they mean. Benchmade, Spyderco and Morakniv label theirs, and normalized to per side, nearly everything with a pocket clip lands between 15° and 20°. Scandi grinds run far thinner and are stated in total degrees, and impulse-hardened saw teeth don’t get sharpened at all. When in doubt, hold something close to 20° a side — the middle of nearly every range any maker publishes.

Quick answers

Does a lower sharpening angle make a knife sharper?
A lower angle makes an edge keener and better at slicing, but not tougher — the trade is real. Work Sharp's edge-angle guidance is blunt about it: wider angles leave more steel supporting the edge, while thinner angles around 15 degrees are fragile and roll sideways under heavy use. A 15° per-side edge glides through food and dulls quickly against wood or cardboard; a 25° per-side edge cuts with more effort and shrugs off abuse. Pick the failure you'd rather live with.
How often should you sharpen a knife versus honing it?
Hone often, sharpen seldom. Honing — a few light passes on a steel or ceramic rod — realigns a rolled edge without removing meaningful metal; Morakniv's care FAQ suggests light pulls against a sharpening steel at a 15–20 degree angle for kitchen knives. Sharpening on a stone removes steel to rebuild the apex, so save it for when honing stops helping. Benchmade's care guidance uses a paper-slicing test as the trigger: when the knife struggles with basic slicing, it's time for stones.
Can you ruin a knife with an electric sharpener?
An electric sharpener can shorten a knife's life, mostly by removing metal far faster than a stone ever would — steel a heavy-handed session grinds away never comes back, and a wandering pass can round the tip. Cheap pull-through sharpeners are the bigger everyday risk: CRKT's sharpening-methods guide doesn't recommend them for delicate or collector blades because they give up control for convenience. A guided electric unit, used sparingly with light pressure, is a reasonable tool.
Do serrated edges need different sharpening than plain edges?
Serrated edges are sharpened scallop by scallop, usually from the ground side, with a rod or rounded stone corner that sits inside each scallop — a flat stone just grinds the points off. Spyderco's Sharpmaker instructions, for example, have you present the rounded edge of the triangular stone to serrated blades with a slightly looser grip. Serrations also tend to keep cutting long after a plain edge has dulled, so they need the treatment less often.
Is a leather strop necessary for sharpening a knife?
A strop isn't necessary — it's a finishing touch. Stropping means dragging the edge trailing-first along leather, sometimes loaded with a fine abrasive compound, to align and polish the apex after stones have done the shaping. Morakniv's sharpening FAQ treats it exactly that way, suggesting a finishing pass on the back side of a leather belt as a last touch. A knife off a fine stone cuts well without one; a strop buys a cleaner apex and a little more time between sharpenings.

Brands in this guide

Sources